Parking Australia Welcomes New Directors

Parking Australia has elected three directors, (two are new to the Board) at the Annual General Meeting of the Company held in Adelaide on 12 November.

The two new directors to join the Parking Australia Board (as voted by Parking Australia members) are Gary Byrne from Hills Limited and Joe Larosa from SKIDATA Australasia.

Gary Byrne worked in car park operations for 9 years, starting out with Wilson Parking, before moving to technology sales as National Sales Manager with TMA Tech.  For the past 18 months, Gary has taken up role at Hills Limited as part of the Security and Surveillance team, driving smart mobility, video management and License Plate Recognition, to bring parking to the security industry.

Joe Larosa is National Head of Sales and Marketing for SKIDATA Australasia and has over 30 years’ experience in the building services industry, as well as various sales and operational roles.  With technology as a key focus, Joe works closely with customers, drawing on his knowledge to define and propose innovative solutions to enhance businesses.

The new directors join Parking Australia’s established board, included President Sharon Prior, who was re-elected on Tuesday. The established board members are:

  • Sharon Prior (re-elected as President) – Adelaide City Council
  • James English (Vice President) – ACE Parking
  • Wayne Bryant – Queensland University of Technology
  • Mosstyn Howell  – UbiPark
  • Paul Sidwell – ADVAM
  • Liam Carroll – City of Darwin
  • Ben Williams – Smart Parking

Sharon Prior praised the contribution of fellow board members, Martin Ryan, who was eligible for re-election, but decided not to stand and Neal Smylie, who resigned on 21 October 2019. Both Neal and Martin joined the Parking Australia Board in 2015.

Martin Ryan, Executive General Manager Consumers at Brisbane Airport Corporation, has been Chair of the Parking Australia Finance Committee and helped oversee the organisation’s strong financial results.

Neal Smylie, CFO at Secure Parking, held the position of Parking Australia’s Vice-President, and was a strong voice for private operators.

Sharon Prior delivered her President’s Report at the AGM and the 2019 Annual Report is available for members to download below along with the Minutes, after logging in.

Pictured: Sharon Prior delivering the President’s Report at the AGM.

You must log in to read the Annual Report

Parking Australia

  • PO Box 30
    Elsternwick VIC
    3185 AUSTRALIA
  • Ph: 1300 787 233

Follow us on

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 Parking Australia
Built by Getmilk